Nintendo Wii – First Thoughts

A lot of people have been asking me, what do you REALLY think about the Wii? Well, this post has been a little while in the making. Why? Because I really wanted to have a better feel for a system, see some of the other reviews coming out, and determine my real thoughts of the system before posting my thoughts.

To make a story short…this is one of the coolest things I have ever owned.

On the gaming aspect – its amazing. Im not much of a gamer, but I really love playing games on this system. Why? Because they are involved. They make you think. They make your entire body (or at least the upper half) into a controler. Yes, the graphics are sub-par to other next-gen consoles. Thats why eventually, I will prob. pick up a XBox 360 (and that the 360 has much more Media Center uses as well). But the WAY you play games is what makes up for it…and its true.

And its only going to get better. In a year or so, we are going to see games using the Wii hardware in ways we can’t even think of right now. Thats where one of my con’s of this system come in – I dont feel that there are that many games currently available that ‘really’ show the hardware and human interaction. But I can sure imagine….

I have taken a few pictures of us playing, and plan on posting them to flickr soon. We even have a few movies as well. The only this is I really wish I could get some of my Mii’s off to show you. Whats better than seeing Jesus and Adolf Hitler playing a relaxing round of golf?

As far as the Virtual Console (the part that lets you download Sega, NES, SNES, TG16, Nintendo 64 games), its pretty cool. Its amazing to play Sonc the Hedgehog on a 51″ TV. So far we have purchased Sonic and F-Zero, and plan on picking up Echo The Dolphin soon.

Keep posted as I review some of the games I have played so far, as well as the channels that I have used!

Listening To: ‘Cherry’ by The Smashing Pumpkins

1 thought on “Nintendo Wii – First Thoughts

  1. Pingback: crushing defeat « parasol party

Leave a comment