Stop wasting your time and just do it

37Signals, the people who make amazing products like Basecamp (a project management suite) and Backpack (a wiki like web application) and also pretty much designed and developed Ruby on Rails, have a great blog called Signal vs. Noise. They posted a harsh, yet very real post today that ‘there is always time to launch your dream‘.

To many people today want to make a quick buck or have everything handed to them on a silver platter, like they deserve it (similar reasoning to why I made this tweet earlier today). Yes, I personally have complained about ‘not having the time to do something’, but I take full responsibility in the fact that I just didn’t want to use the time doing that particular thing. 

But in recent months, I have realized that I should just stop wasting my time and get the job done. In some cases, this can actually be very rewarding in the end. For example, I have seen at least 3 ideas I have had come to fruition in the last year (and not by me), where I could have had a very similar product MUCH EARLIER  if I had just taken the time to flush something out. Or, one could finish a product and get it distributed (whether its a website, mobile application, or even desktop application) and start making money – its obviously not going to make any money if its not released.

This can go both ways as well. It’s like when you were a little kid. Get your chores done and you can play with your toys. Not to long ago, I was working 70 hour weeks all the time. And since I just had so much work, friendships, relationships, and even other job opportunities suffered. Now that I have a job that I love, and don’t nearly have to work as much on that, all of the above can thrive. 

If you are passionate about what you are going to do – it feels less and less like work. As said in the article, ‘If you want it bad enough, you will make the time’.

Leave a Reply

