Simplify Media is amazing!

After Debs and I recently switched over to AT&T and got our iPhones, I cleared out a lot of my gadgets to help pay for the ETF and the new iPhones. One thing that I let go of was my less than a year old 80GB iPod Classic. For the first time ever, I was able to carry my entire music library (around 50GB right now) with me.

I can put my music on my iPhone, but randomly selecting music just doesn’t fit for me, and I always end up shuffling through everything. But I then heard about Simplify Media! And by the time I got around to installing it, the iPhone application had also come out!

Using the built in sharing features of apps like iTunes and WinAmp, Simplify Media allows you to create accounts and share libraries from remote machines. And better yet, you can have up to 30 friends share your content as well. So I always have Simplify Media running on our home iMac, and share my library with a few friends. I also can then stream my entire library to my laptop at work!

One of the only problems I have noticed so far is iTunes on the PC and connecting on our somewhat slow T1. Between every song, there is usually a 20+ second gap ‘connecting to stream’. Once I switched over to WinAmp, all works great, and it even loads my library faster.

I also can now have my entire library on the go through the iPhone! It can stream through WiFi, 3G, and EDGE, and not to bad either. I have had a few problems with it not finding all of my friends libraries, but I honestly haven’t used it on the phone much. Most everywhere I would really need it I have my laptop, or music that I really plan on listening to already on the phone.

I really recommend you check this service out, and if you are friend or family and want to share, let me know!

Listening To: ‘To Sheila’ by The Smashing Pumpkins

3 thoughts on “Simplify Media is amazing!

  1. Pingback: dreary is wonderful today. « parasol party

  2. Pingback: » Catching up…

Leave a Reply

