Firmware update really helped my Motorola Q this time!

For almost a year now, I have been toting around a Motorola Q from Sprint. I got a great deal on it (was only $99), and only pay $30 a month for 500 minutes, unlimited text messages, and unlimited data connections. Ive been really happy, except for some of the crap I have had to go through with Sprint customer service on Deb’s phone.

Ever since September/October though, my phone has been acting up a whole lot on me. Some of the issues were

  • Not charging when phone was actually on the charger, or charging and then not updating Windows on the charge, until I power cycled the device.
  • Not accepting a connection to a PC. It would act like its charging, but would never actually connect.
  • ‘Beeps’ made when plugging the device in were a lot quieter than usual – about 25% normal volume.
  • Phone not picking up the call when I hit ‘Answer’, or dropping calls after only 1 ring.
  • TERRIBLE battery life.
  • Entire phone would be sluggish going to any menus, new apps, etc.
  • And much, much more, making me want to throw the darn thing away.

Well, I figured a firmware update would be worthwhile, and hopefully if anything reset the phone to some sort of default settings again.

The firmware upgrade went very smoothly, the first one where it has not failed for me (its actually VERY common for it to fail looking at forums online).  Once the device finally restarted, it was MUCH faster, and didn’t have any lag. Also, all the issues with plugging the device in worked flawlessly. I have not been able to tell anything else that changed though, other than them trying to push Microsoft Live in Pocket IE.

If you have been having problems with your Q, I really recommend running this update.  You have to have a PC (I actually still plug my Q into my old PC to sync, since there is nothing I really like available for the Mac yet).

I still want to write a program for this device, I just don’t know what yet.  Anyone have any ideas?

Listening To: ‘Space Dog’ by Tori Amos

Leave a Reply

