Simple and cheap data recovery!

My middle step-brother, Mike, recently returned home from Iraq and is now on a month of leave before going back to his base, with the possibility of yet another deployment. Luckily he had an internet connection out there, and I was able to keep in touch with him here and there on Facebook, MySpace, and even AIM.

One day while out there he asked me if I could check out his laptop, because it was having problems booting. About two weeks later, I had his laptop and everything else back, directly from Iraq! I started the machine up, and sure enough it wouldn’t let anyone log in. After trying a few different things, I still could never get the machine to finish booting. Eventually I tried ‘chkdsk’, which failed at 50% checking the disk.

I assumed a failing hard drive, which proved to be the problem when starting to recover some of the data. But how should I go about getting this data back off? I don’t have any programs to help me with this or to help repair the drive. He has 30+ gigs of valuable documents, pictures, videos, and music.

In my previous work, I was a sysadmin, so some valuable knowledge sat in, and I got to work. I downloaded the newest version of Ubuntu. This should have NTFS read/write built into the LiveCD. Next, reformatted my iPod to Windows, and hooked everything up.

I booted the laptop the fist time hooked up to network, but for some reason, none of the LiveCD’s (Ubuntu and some others) would not recognize his network interface. So I rebooted, this time plugging in the iPod, and it mounted on the first try!

After many HOURS of copying data off, having to hit ‘skip’ to the ‘I/O failure’ prompts, I was able to recover 99% of all of his data, and now on the road to recovery with a brand new Hard Drive! I would recommend this method to anyone to save a few bucks and some time on what can usually be a very difficult process.

Listening To: ‘Secret Machines’ – Lightning Blue Eyes

3 thoughts on “Simple and cheap data recovery!

  1. I’ve been looking around for some sites that will recover my data for me. I cant get this drive to do anything. The only places I’ve found seem super expensive except for http://drivefish.com

  2. I have used DriveFish (http://www.drivefish.com) several times. They have always been able to recover my data successfully and get it back to me within a short period of time.

    I thought it was too good to be true, or that there would be hidden fees. Not so. They are always professional and straight forward with me regarding my drives.

    Highly recommended.

  3. Thanks for giving useful information. I have recently lost my data. I have used Stellar Phoenix data recovery software. It is very easy to use and provides good data recovery solution.

Leave a Reply

