Gmail now has IMAP!

My account does not have it enabled yet, but it looks that tonight Google decided to start letting users have IMAP access to their gmail!

To me, this is huge. Ive been wanting to use my phone and Mail.app on my iMac to manage my email, but really wanted IMAP access to it rather than using POP. Basically, with POP email, you just log into the server and download your messages and your done. But with IMAP, you can manage folders, download just the header information of your emails, and status of emails (read or unread) is saved on the server. So if I read something on the Mac, it will mark it as being read online, or any other mail client I have checking my email.

Listening To: ‘The Weight of the World’ by The Editors

Leave a Reply

