Problems installing QuickTime/iTunes/Safari on Windows (error 2738)

UPDATE So a few people have asked me what to do when you are running a 64bit version of Windows. I have now updated this to display both!

With last weeks Apple’s WWDC keynote, Steve Jobs announce a public beta of Safari 3, but this time for Windows as well. It was pretty freaky, because just that morning we were looking for ways to check the way WebKit renders HTML on a PC.

When I went to install this on my Windows Vista laptop, I kept getting an error (Number 2738) when trying to do the install. Checking around online, it took a few minutes, but I found this KB article on Apple’s site (they have since updated the KB article since I first started this post).

What happens is that on some machines, VBScript isnt registered with the machine correctly.

If you are running a 32-bit version of Windows, running the ‘regsvr32 vbscript.dll’ solves the problem, and you dont have to reboot either.

If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows, you need to run this from a different folder. In a command prompt, do ‘cd \windows\syswow64’, and then run ‘regsvr32 vbscript.dll’.

After running the command, the installer worked perfectly fine, and I got to try out Safari!
[ad#postad]
Listening To: ‘Home’ by The Smashing Pumpkins

17 thoughts on “Problems installing QuickTime/iTunes/Safari on Windows (error 2738)

  1. Thanks a lot bro. It shows how microsoft stopping us to install any product other than its own

  2. No, the ‘regsvr32 vbscript.dll’ trick doesn’t work with the Satafri-Installer in Vista x64 (German).

  3. Did you get a confirmation that it worked, or an error that vbscript.dll couldnt be found. If you get the error, try giving the path to vbscript.dll, which should be in your C:\Windows\System folder.

  4. Santosh, you are so funny. I cannot install IE7 on macs either, and by your logic that’s because apple stops you? grow up.

  5. Hah – when in all honesty its MS that just doesnt want to develop for the Mac anymore….

  6. I’ve just downloaded Safrai 3.0.3 Public beta for my windows vista PC and half way through installing it says: there is an error with this package (error code:2738!!!!!!!! desperately want safari, what should i do!

  7. 64 bit editions of Windows use a different app to register the dll’s. i know its not regsvr32 but I forget what its called

  8. help. I’m not as puter literate as some here. I have windows vista on my laptop.
    I have tried many times to insatll and uninstall an reinstall quick time and i tunes
    it will ownload and during installation i get error 2738.
    i don’t know how to do command promts.
    can anyone help this lost puter person .

    thanks

    Bonnie
    AJEisbak@aol.com

  9. I get error 2738 when I try to install iTunes on my Vista Ultimate x64 laptop.

    I tried Jon’s fix but my Command Prompt comes up C:\windows\system32 and I don’t know how to change it to C:\windows\syswow64 . I tried to backspace, cut etc. nothing worked. So I went to the Start menu and did RUN C:\windows\syswow64\regsvr32 vbscript.dll and got error 0x80004005. What did I do wrong? Also how can I Change the command line in Command Prompt to C:\windows\syswow64 ?

    Thanks, Carole

  10. Hi Jon,

    I just tried RUN c:\windows\syswow64\regsvr32\vbscript.dll putting in the \ separator, and Now I’m getting a message that says I’m “referring to a location that is not available”

    HELP!!!!!

    Carole

  11. Carole, while I do not have access to a 64-bit copy of Windows right now, try this in two commands. First, open a command prompt, and type ‘cd C:\windows\syswow64’. Then, once you are in this folder, type ‘regsrvr32 vbscript.dll’

  12. Hi All, I am trying to install Safari on a windows 2000 pro but I am getting this erro..

    Application Error
    The execption unknow software exception (oxc000000d) accurred in the application at location 0x7813941a.

    Do anyone knows as to why I am getting this error any help would be great..
    I have try installing the application twice now.

    Thanks,

    Carlos

  13. I think there may be an issue with getting iTunes on Windows 2000. That, or you may want to consider downloading it again.

  14. k so.
    i don’t really know all that much about computers.
    but i have a windows vista desktop …
    and i got it about 7-8 months ago …
    i downloaded iTunes about a week after i got it.
    well about 5 months after, my computer crashed.
    apparently it was because of iTunes.
    but i lost everything !
    so will this code make it so it won’t crash again ?
    or can it ?
    Email Me Back .
    cassidy-xo@hotmail.com
    Thankyou .

  15. guys, i am not able to install neither itunes nor quicktime and it keeps giving me at the end of installation that error 2738 and itunes requires quicktime and can’t install, what do i do???
    i need help please
    can you email me to hani_alamo@hotmail.com, thank you very very much

Leave a Reply

