That first roll of film…

Well, we finally got around to getting the first roll of film from my new camera developed.

The pictures came out a LOT better than I thought, but I still have a LOT to do to really get this whole photography thing going again. First, I need to really clean my camera. There were a lot of artifacts all over the scans, and I feel that part of it was due to some dust I have seen on the mirror and lens. Secondly, I need to find a ‘better’ way to get digital prints of my film.

We took them to the Ritz Camera on Broad St. near Parham Road. We had them just develop the film and put them on to a CD, I did not get any actual prints. Well, about 10 of the prints have SO much noise on them they are almost useless to me. The others have random scanning artifacts on them. There were some BEAUTIFUL shots I would like to put up…but they look terrible on the computer. Id really like to hear what type of experiences people have had converting their film to digital, and what is the best way to do it.

I took 5 of the best (in composition that then had least amount of noise) from the roll and cleaned them up a little in Photoshop, fixed the levels, etc.  Please check them out on Flickr and let me know what you think!

Listening To: Debs shopping around on the iTunes Music Store

3 thoughts on “That first roll of film…

  1. When I used a film camera, I would have them processed normally and then scan them myself. The best route is to scan the negatives (most scanners have an optional or built-in film scanner). However, I have to say that my digital SLR leaves my film SLR in the dust. I shoot way more, and it’s way more convenient. For me, needing a print is more the exception, and you can get real photo prints from digital files from almost everywhere these days (Flickr even lets you order prints to pick up at your local Target). I have a Nikon D50, which is essentially the digital version of my film SLR, the N65, and uses the same lenses. I love the instant feedback of digital (because I am still trying to learn photography, bit by bit), and I don’t have to spend a bunch of money on developing (though the upfront cost was higher). I use Adobe Photoshop Lightroom to manage and develop the RAW files, which I keep stored on a Firewire hard drive. Since getting Lightroom (which I’ve had since the mid-Beta period), I’ve logged about 800 frames. When I have photos I like (or that I want to share for some other reason), I export them as JPGs and upload them to Flickr. Anyway, I’m sure you know all of this. Just sharing my experiences. By the way, if you know anyone who wants to buy a good-as-new Nikon N65, let me know!

  2. Oh, also, a dirty mirror won’t affect the image quality (though if it is sufficiently dirty it may affect the camera’s TTL metering), because it flips out of the way during exposure.

  3. hah – yah…i dont know why i wrote about dust on the mirror. I just need to clean my lenses.

    As far as scanning – i use to have a scanner, and it actually gave me better results scanning in prints than the scanning from film that ritz camera did. The scanner I had didnt have a way to scan film, but I may look into getting one now if this takes off.

    I of course LOVE my digital camera, we just got a new one as well. I do kinda wish at times we just got a new digital SLR, but then again, i like having something to grab when I go out to parties, etc….and dont want to carry around a big camera 🙂

    I honestly didnt get ANY prints from that roll, only the scans. Im thinking of getting some prints of my favorites, but not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

