VMWare Fusion Beta

Last week, VMWare (a long time Virtualization Software company) released a public Beta of their Fusion application. This would be in dirrect competition with Paralells, the first company that really put out a virtualization application on the Mac.

I signed up for the beta, and have been playing around with it a bit. I downloaded a pre-built image of Fedora Core 6 and ran a slew of updates on it. The first thing I noticed is that it felt a little bit quicker than Paralells. I also liked the fact that I could just pull any of the prebuilt images from their site (which has a TON), and just get to work. It also looks like the machines of course that I make on my own machine can easily move to some of our VMWare Servers, just by sending the needed files.

I have a screenshot of my first test with it. Dont mind the Jack in the background 😉

If you want to try it out, you should head over to the VMWare site. Once I work with it a little bit more, Ill try to write up some more info on it, and why I really think people should be using THIS product rather than Parallels 🙂

Listening To: ‘Down In It’ by Nine Inch Nails

4 thoughts on “VMWare Fusion Beta

  1. I’d really like to see a better interface.

    Parallels has been amazing with the slew of features they’ve been consistently throwing into the product. If VMWare can beat that, I’ll take that route only because I will be able to easily move my VMs from place to place.

    Looking forward to reasons why I should not use Parallels!

  2. As someone who is planning on purchasing my first Mac in the next few months, I’v been following this with great interest. I use the free VMWare server on Windows for testing Win/Linux servers and love it. Being able to use those same image files on a Mac would be great.

    Does Fusion have a tabbed interface when you have more than one VM running at the same time?

  3. Yes, I agree, I would like to see the interface get a lot better. And also, Paralells has been throwing a lot more ‘cool’ features into its product, like the booting from Boot Camp parition and Coherence mode.

    It depends on what you are looking for. For example with what I do, we use VMWare a lot, and if they make Fusion anything like the rest of the products, its makes things a little more fluid. Paralells feels more like a ‘desktop’ app, and its great for the normal consumer.

    With Fusion still being in early Beta, I think we have a whole lot more coming.

    As far as the UI, Fusion does not have the tabs you are used to. Each thing is in a new window. There also really isnt ANYTHING in the preferences yet.

  4. Pingback: Sample the Web — My Black MacBook’s hinge is creaking…

Leave a Reply

