Project Management should be the next big thing.

Recently, a lot of information has been coming out about the upcoming OmniPlan from the OmniGroup. I got to see some of the beta screenshots today on arstechnica. This brings me to a good point.

Most of what I did my degree on has really no relation to what I do for a living now. To a point. What I learned in Manoj’s class, what I learned in my programing classes, etc, was all RELATIVE to what I do, and def. give me a different point of view on what I do for a living, but when it comes down to it, I use VERY little of what I learned day to day (I think the most I use came from Manoj’s class just because that was the only real sys-admin like class we took).

But there is something I have really started to miss from school, and that was project management. I used to use MS Project for just about everything, ever personal stuff, and tracking progress on either programing projects or other non-computer related tasks. Since I have been using the Mac so much, I really got out of this.

I want to get back in. We use some software at work to bascially track our hours, who to bill them to, etc (like any other company). But what if project management was intergrated into systems like this? For example, one could build a project in a package like OmniPlan, place this in their tasking database that would track billable hours, etc. This data could then be fed back into your project management app, to track the progress of the actual project, and give you yet another visual representation of your project. The only thing really holding anyone back from this though is how to transfer this data. Mainly, because no real companies that have made project management apps have written a tasking and billing system as well to intergrate with their apps. One could dream though…

Listening to: ‘In My Place’ by Coldplay
2 thoughts on “Project Management should be the next big thing.

Leave a Reply

